Naoka Aoki

Violin Soloist

An exciting and charismatic performer, Naoka Aoki won second prize at the prestigious Long-Thibaud-Crespin Violin Competition in 2014 where she also received the special prize of the Prince Albert Ⅱ of Monaco for the best concerto interpretation. In the same year, she also won second prize at the 4th China International Violin Competition(Qingdao).

Born in Tokyo in 1992, Naoka Aoki started playing the violin at the age of three. In 2001, she was the youngest student selected for the Zakhar Bron violin seminar. She went on to win prizes in Japan, including a special diploma from the Tchaikovsky Competition for Young Musicians in 2004, and first prize and three special prizes at the 78th Music Competition in Japan in 2009. Naoka Aoki was the youngest student to pursue the Soloist Diploma Course at the Toho College of Music in Tokyo.

From 2011 to 2015 Naoka studied at the Royal College of Music under Professor Mark Messenger as a Heather Laverne Scholar supported by the Ian Stoutzker Prize, and she is currently studying at the Royal Academy of Music under Professor Mayumi Fujikawa as an ABRSM full scholarship.

Naoka Aoki made her debut playing Paganini Violin Concerto No.1 with the NHK Symphony Orchestra. She went on to play with the Orchestra Ensemble Kanazawa, Tokyo Symphony Orchestra, Tokyo Philharmonic Orchestra, Kanagawa Philharmonic Orchestra and Chiba New Philharmonic appearing at major venues in Japan. More recently, Naoka Aoki won the Royal College of Music Concerto Competition, giving her the chance to perform the Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto in London with the RCM Philharmonic Orchestra.

A keen chamber musician, Naoka Aoki leads the Son String Quartet formed in 2012. As winners of the Royal College of Music String Quartet Competition, they have given concerts at the Royal Albert Hall, Wigmore Hall, Lincoln’s Inn Chapel and at the Chipping Campden Festival.

Naoka recently received the Tagore Gold Medal from HRH Prince of Wales at the Royal College of Music, where she graduated in 2015 – awarded with the highest honour.